Court of Appeal

About the Louisiana First Circuit Court of Appeal: The Louisiana First Circuit Court of Appeal is an intermediate appellate court for the State of Louisiana. The Court has jurisdiction to hear appeals from final decisions in all civil matters and most criminal matters made by courts in specified parishes. The Court is one of five circuit courts of appeal established by the Louisiana legislature.

The First Circuit Court of Appeal consists of 12 sitting judges and has jurisdiction over 16 parishes in the southeastern part of the state. It covers the parishes of: Ascension, Assumption, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Lafourche, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Helena, St. Mary, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, Washington, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana.


District 1: The parishes of Ascension, Assumption, Iberville, Lafourche, Pointe Coupee, St. Mary, Terrebonne and West Baton Rouge shall compose the first district of the First Circuit.The first district is further divided into two election sections.Election section one is composed of Ascension Parish, Assumption Parish, Iberville Parish, Pointe Coupee Parish and West Baton Rouge Parish.Election section two is composed of Lafourche Parish, St. Mary Parish and Terrebonne Parish.

District 2: District 2 consists of the parish of East Baton Rouge.

District 3: District 3 consists of the parishes of East Feliciana, Livingston, St. Helena, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Washington and West Feliciana.