Term Ends: 2026
Party: D

On April 1, 2006, the Honorable June Berry Darensburg was elected Judge to the Twenty-Fourth Judicial District Court, Division C, for the Parish of Jefferson, State of Louisiana. She was reelected without opposition in July 2008, 2014, and 2020. Judge Darensburg is the first African American female elected to a judgeship in Jefferson Parish.

Judge Darensburg is a 1980 graduate of Grace King High School. Pursuing her first career ambition, she enrolled at Xavier University of Louisiana where she majored in Pharmacy. She received her Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from Xavier in 1985.

While working as a Pharmacist, Judge Darensburg developed an interest in the law. She attended Loyola University College of Law full time, while working part time as a Pharmacist. In December 1994, Judge Darensburg graduated from Loyola. She worked in private practice and was employed by the Jefferson Parish Indigent Defender Board providing legal service to those unable to afford representation. She was also employed as an Associate Attorney by The LeBlanc Butler Law Firm where she was a litigator in the areas of Products Liability and Insurance Defense.

She is a member of the National Bar Association, National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges, National Association of Women Judges, American Bar Association, Louisiana State Bar Association, Louisiana Judicial Council-NBA, Louisiana District Judges Association, Fifth Circuit Judges Association, Fourth and Fifth Circuit Judges Association, Jefferson Bar Association, Louis A. Martinet Society and Louisiana Pharmacy Association.

She is also a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Westwego Rotary Club, Xavier University Investigational Review Board, Leadership Jefferson Task Force, and Loyola Law Alumni Association Board of Directors.

Judge Darensburg presides over civil, criminal and domestic cases, and volunteers as an Intensive Probation Drug Court Judge. She served as Chief Judge of the 24th Judicial District Court from January 1, 2014 until December 31, 2015.